Applications Open: RCE Awards 2022

UNU-IAS has began the application period for the Regional Centres for Expertise on Education for Sustainable Development (RCE) Awards for 2022.

UNU-IAS has opened the application period for the Regional Centres of Expertise on Education for Sustainable Development (RCE) Awards for 2022. The RCEs are encouraged to nominate their most outstanding ESD project/s for the award and are to illustrate how RCEs address local sustainable development challenges, and therefore provide an example of how the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) can be implemented at the local level through quality education.

Categories for the Awards

Submissions are invited in any of the following categories to underscore the contribution of RCEs to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) or other themes related to ESD:

SDG 1: No poverty

SDG 2: Zero hunger

SDG 3: Good health and well-being

SDG 4: Quality education

SDG 5: Gender equality

SDG 6: Clean water and sanitation

SDG 7: Affordable and clean energy

SDG 8: Decent work and economic growth

SDG 9: Industry, Innovation, and infrastructure

SDG 10: Reduced inequalities

SDG 11: Sustainable cities and communities

SDG 12: Responsible consumption and production

SDG 13: Climate action

SDG 14: Life below water

SDG 15: Life on land

SDG 16: Peace, justice, and strong institutions

SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

Disaster risk reduction

Traditional knowledge



Curriculum development



Plants & animals


Format for submission and review

Online submission of the award project or programme is to be done on the RCE Portal and must be done by 9 September 2022.

For more information, including submission guidelines, please visit the Global RCE Network website.

Related content


The Role of Science in Building a Sustainable Society

TOKYO: This event will discuss interdisciplinary cooperation and citizen participation for achieving the SDGs.



Catalysing Policy Improvement in Africa

This project aims to improve policy outputs in the areas of maternal, newborn, sexual and reproductive health across five African countries.

05 Dec 2023