Call for Applications: ESD Okayama Award 2021

UNU-IAS is now accepting applications for the ESD Okayama Award 2021.

The UNU Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability (UNU-IAS) is now accepting applications for the ESD Okayama Award 2021. The award recognises outstanding Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) practices in local communities around the world and supports organisations involved in activities to promote ESD in local communities by showcasing their initiatives on a global level. The award selection committee consists of six leading organisations in ESD, including UNU-IAS and UNESCO Bangkok.

Eligibility: Organisations based in any country implementing ESD activities in local communities

Number of Award-Winning Projects: Up to two projects with a prize of US$3,000 per project

Deadline for Applications: 15 July 2021, 17:00 JST

Award Ceremony: 20 November 2021

Please note that one representative from the winning project(s) will be invited to the ceremony in Okayama, Japan to give a presentation. Whether this ceremony will be held in-person or online is yet to be decided.

For updates and application materials, visit the UNU-IAS website.

Related content


13th African RCE Regional Meeting

ONLINE: On 17 August, UNU-IAS will co-organize the African RCE Regional Meeting under the theme Fostering Pan-African Collaboration for Just Futures.



Global Environment Outreach Centre (GEOC)

This project aims to promote collaboration and partnerships to encourage solutions to environmental problems on a regional and global scale.

14 Sep 2023