Maastricht Economic and Social Research Institute on Innovation and Technology (UNU-MERIT)

Maastricht , The Netherlands

Board Members
  • The Maastricht Economic and Social Research Institute on Innovation and Technology (UNU-MERIT) explores the social, political and economic factors that drive technological innovation, with a particular focus on creation, diffusion and access to knowledge.

    Following the integration of the Maastricht Graduate School of Governance in December 2010, the Institute now covers all aspects of governance in domestic and global organizations, from risk assessment to policy analysis, design and evaluation. In its enlarged form, UNU-MERIT functions as a unique research centre and graduate school, and as a think tank addressing a broad range of policy questions on science, innovation and democratic governance.

    UNU-MERIT offers a PhD in Public Policy, Innovation & Development and a Master of Science in Public Policy and Human Development.

  • Prof. Luc Soete (Belgium)— Observer
    Rector Magnificus at the University of Maastricht

    Prof. Richard R. Nelson (USA)
    Director, Program on Science, Technology, and Global Development Columbia Earth Institute

    Prof. Franz C. Palm (Belgium) — Chair
    Professor of Econometrics, Royal Netherlands Academy

    Mr. Joop F. Sistermans (The Netherlands)
    Chairman, Dutch Advisory Council for Science and Technology (AWT)

    Prof. Lan Xue (China)
    Executive Associate Dean, School of Public Policy and Management, Tsinghua University

    Ex Officio Members

    Dr. David M. Malone (Canada)
    Rector, United Nations University

    Prof. Dr. Bart Verspagen (The Netherlands)
    Director, UNU-MERIT


    Prof. Luc Soete, Director
    United Nations University
    Maastricht Economic and Social Research and Training Centre on Innovation and Technology
    Keizer Karelplein 19, 6211 TC Maastricht
    The Netherlands

    T: +31 43 388-4400
    F: + 31 43 388-4499