UNU-FLORES Advisory Committee Chair Wins 2019 Japan Prize

  • 2019•02•27

    Prof. Rattan Lal, Chair of the International Advisory Committee of the UNU Institute for Integrated Management of Material Fluxes and of Resources (UNU-FLORES), has been selected to receive the 2019 Japan Prize in “Biological Production, Ecology”.

    The Japan Prize is awarded annually to scientists and engineers from around the world who have made significant contributions to the advancement of science and technology, thereby furthering the cause of peace and prosperity of mankind. Each year, two fields of scientific endeavour are honoured.

    Dr Lal, a Distinguished University Professor of Soil Science at The Ohio State University (Ohio) was recognised for his work in identifying technological options adapted to various ecosystems through intensive basic and applied research on processes and factors of soil degradation caused by inappropriate biological production. This has led to the evaluation of recommended agricultural practices that reduce risks of soil degradation and of anthropogenic climate change while improving the environmental quality and addressing the critical issues of feeding the earth’s population.

    Also honoured was Dr Yoshio Okamoto, Professor Emeritus at Nagoya University (Japan), who has contributed to the development of basic science and industry by establishing the groundbreaking concept of asymmetric polymerisation for the creation of a helical polymer, and developed the results into a practical separation method for optically active drugs.

    On 8 April, in an award ceremony in Tokyo, the Japan Prize Foundation will present Drs Lal and Okamoto with a certificate of recognition, a commemorative gold medal, and a cash award of 50 million yen.

    For more information, see the UNU-FLORES announcement and the Japan Prize Foundation press release.