Awards Ceremony for 32nd Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Winners

  • 2017•01•18     Tokyo

    In a 19 January 2017 award ceremony at UNU Headquarters in Tokyo, the winners of the 32nd Eisaku Sato Essay Contest will receive their prizes.

    The Eisaku Sato Essay Contest is bilingual (English and Japanese) international competition that was established in memory of the late Eisaku Sato, former Prime Minister of Japan, with the monetary award that he received with his 1974 Nobel Peace Prize. The contest was inaugurated in 1980, and has been held annually since 1990.

    The theme of the 2016 essay contest, which had a submission deadline of 31 March 2016, was: “Considering the multiple and pressing challenges the United Nations faces today, what is the proper role of the Secretary-General as top international public servant? Discuss the required qualities and discipline of a Secretary-General in view of the practices and achievements of the successive Secretary-Generals.”

    A total of 487 essays (20 in Japanese and 467 in English) were submitted.

    The Eisaku Sato Memorial Foundation for Cooperation with UNU has announced that the winners of the 2016 contest are:

    Award of Brilliance (¥200,000)

    • Takafumi Yanagisawa, University of Tokyo, Graduate School of Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
    • Martin George Holmes, University of Otago
    • Chia Hui Qi Samantha, Delt University of Technology

    For more information, including links to the winning essays, see the announcement of the 32nd Eisaku Sato Essay Contest award winners on the Foundation website.