30th Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Winners Announced

  • 2014•09•24     Tokyo

    In a 24 September 2014 award ceremony held at UN University Headquarters in Tokyo, the winners of the 30th Eisaku Sato Essay Contest received their prizes.

    The Eisaku Sato Essay Contest is a bilingual (English and Japanese) international competition that was established in memory of the late Eisaku Sato, former Prime Minister of Japan, with the monetary award that he received with his 1974 Nobel Peace Prize. The contest was inaugurated in 1980, and has been held annually since 1990.

    The theme of the 2014 essay contest, which had a submission deadline of 31 March, was: “Discuss the merits and demerits of extending long-term assistance to developing countries whose own self-help efforts are inadequate, as well as potential measures that could promote greater self-help efforts.”

    One-hundred fifty-one essays — 28 in Japanese and 123 in English — were submitted. The judgement committee met to select the winners on 11 September.

    The Eisaku Sato Memorial Foundation for Cooperation with UNU has announced that the winners of the 2014 contest are:

    • Award of Excellence (¥500,000)

      Atsushi Kato, Professor, School of Business, Aoyama Gakuin University

    • Award of Brilliance (¥200,000)

      Zawedde Brenda Sewali, Uganda Electricity Transmission Co.

    • Award of Effort (¥50,000)

      Hiroshi Mayahara, retiree

      Isao Yamamoto, 3rd-year student, Faculty of Letters, University of Kyoto

      Tong Hien Chi, National Junior College Class of 2013 (Singapore)

      Juliet Auma Odhiambo, Standard Chartered Bank, Kenya Office

    For more information, including links to the winning essays, see the Announcement of the 30th Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Award Winners.