Winners of ProSPER.Net–Scopus 2013 Young Scientist Award Announced

, ,

  • 2013•08•29     Singapore

    The network for the Promotion of Sustainability in Postgraduate Education and Research (ProSPER.Net) is an alliance of leading universities in the Asia–Pacific region that are committed to integrating sustainable development into postgraduate courses and curricula. The UNU Institute of Advanced Studies (UNU-IAS) serves as ProSPER.Net Secretariat.

    In 2009, ProSPER.Net partnered with Elsevier, a provider of scientific and technical information products and services, to create the ProSPER.Net-Scopus Young Scientist Award in Sustainable


    This annual award is given to young scientists and researchers in the Asia–Pacific region — those who have completed their PhD within the past five years and are engaged in graduate education and research activities — who have made significant contributions in the area of sustainable development. It seeks to encourage them to apply their research to concrete initiatives that improve the well-being of individuals, families and communities.

    For 2013, the competition encompassed three categories: (i) Water, (ii) Transport, and (iii) Information and Communication Technology (ICT) for Sustainable Development.

    The finalists presented their research on 19 August 2013 in Singapore, at a symposium hosted by Nanyang Technological University at the Nanyang Environment and Water Research Institute (NTU-NEWRI). The winners were then named, with the awards being presented the same day.

    The winners and runners-up of the 2013 ProSPER.Net-Scopus Young Scientist Award in Sustainable Development are:

    Category: WATER

    • Winner: Shi Lei, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
    • First runner up: Viswanathan Natrayasamy, Anna University, India
    • Second runner up: Bing-Jie Ni, University of Queensland, Australia

    Category: TRANSPORT

    • Winner: Liangfei Xu, Tsinghua University, People’s Republic of China
    • First runner up: Anantharaj Ramalingam, University of Malaya, Malaysia


    • Although there were numerous nominations, no winner was named in this category.

    The Young Scientist Award winners are selected on the basis of three criteria: number of citations, number and quality of publications and patents, and documented social impact.

    The winners received a cash award of US$1,000 from ProSPER.Net-Scopus and are eligible for a fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (which provides travel and living expenses to spend up to eighteen months collaborating with any research group of the recipient’s choosing in Germany).

    For more information, see the 2013 Young Scientist Award  announcement and the ProSPER.Net page on the UNU-IAS website.