UNU Welcomes 12 New Council Members

  • 2016•04•28     Tokyo

    The United Nations University (UNU) is pleased to announce the appointment of 12 new members to the governing United Nations University Council.

    The new UNU Council members, who will take office as of 3 May 2016, are:

    • Prof. Ernest Aryeetey (Ghana), Secretary-General, African Research Universities Alliance
    • Prof. Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz (Brazil), Scientific Director, São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP), and Professor, Gleb Wataghin Physics Institute, State University of Campinas
    • Prof. Simon Chesterman (Australia), Dean, Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore
    • Amb. Elizabeth Cousens (USA), Deputy Chief Executive Officer, United Nations Foundation
    • Ms. Isabel Guerrero Pulgar (Chile), Director, IMAGO Global Grassroots, and lecturer at Harvard and MIT
    • Mag. Dr h.c. Angela Kane (Germany), Senior Fellow, Vienna Centre for Non-Proliferation and Disarmament, and Professor, Sciences Po, Paris
    • Dr Segenet Kelemu (Ethiopia), Director General and CEO, International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology
    • Dr Bassma Kodmani (Syria), Executive Director, Arab Reform Initiative
    • Dr Radha Kumar (India), Policy Analyst, Delhi Policy Group
    • Prof. Irena Lipowicz (Poland), Professor, Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University (Warsaw)
    • Prof. Tsuneo Nishida (Japan), Director, Institute for Peace Science, Hiroshima University
    • Prof. Lan Xue (China), Dean, School of Public Policy and Management, Tsinghua University; Director, China Institute for S&T Policy; Adjunct Professor, Carnegie Mellon University; Non-Resident Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

    UNU Council members are appointed jointly by the United Nations Secretary-General and UNESCO Director-General, in accordance with Article IV of the UNU Charter. They serve in an individual capacity ― not as representatives of their country’s government.

    The UNU Council comprises the 12 appointed members, the UNU Rector, and three ex officio members (the Secretary-General of the United Nations, the Director-General of UNESCO, and the Executive Director of UNITAR). The Council’s main functions, inter alia, to formulate the principles and policies of UNU, govern its operations, and consider and approve the UNU biennial work programme and budget.

    The next (65th) session of the Council will convene in Vienna on 3–4 May 2016.

    • Press release: “New Members Appointed to United Nations University Council”