2015 Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Winners Announced

  • 2015•09•28     Tokyo

    In a 29 September 2015 award ceremony at UN University Headquarters in Tokyo, the winners of the 31st Eisaku Sato Essay Contest will receive their prizes.

    The Eisaku Sato Essay Contest is a bilingual (English and Japanese) international competition that was established in memory of the late Eisaku Sato, former Prime Minister of Japan, with the monetary award that he received with his 1974 Nobel Peace Prize. The contest was inaugurated in 1980, and has been held annually since 1990.

    The theme of the 2015 essay contest, which had a submission deadline of 31 March, was: “Describe the current relationship between the USA and China with reference to their respective responsibilities and roles in international society. Discuss how the United Nations could work with these two superpowers in order to tackle global issues more effectively.”

    A total of 101 essays — 20 in Japanese and 81 in English — were submitted. The judgement committee of the met to select the winners on 11 September.

    The Eisaku Sato Memorial Foundation for Cooperation with UNU has announced that the winners of the 2015 contest are:

    Award of Excellence (¥500,000)

    • Sandunika Hasangani, Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, Graduate School of Global Studies

    Award of Effort (¥50,000)

    • Takashi Okabe, Senior Manager, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu LLC
    • Hirotaka Suzuki, Graduate of Graduate School of International Relations, University of Shizuoka
    • Arpan Dahal, University of Texas at Arlington

    For more information, including links to the winning essays, see the announcement of the 31st Eisaku Sato Essay Contest Award Winners on the Foundation website.