Prof. Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz

Senior Vice President, Elsevier Research Networks

  • Prof. Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz is the Senior Vice President, Elsevier Research Networks.

    He sits on the Shell Science Council, the International Advisory Board of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, and the Panel of Judges for the Queen Elizabeth Engineering Prize. Prof. Brito Cruz is a member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences (ABC) and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

    Prof. Brito Cruz previously served as Rector of the University of Campinas, President of FAPESP, Dean of Research at UNICAMP, and as Director of the Gleb Wataghin Physics Institute at UNICAMP. From 1995 to 1999 he was Vice-President of the Brazilian Physics Society (SBF). He presided over the Council for Technology and Competitiveness at the Federation of Industries of the State of São Paulo (FIESP) and has been a member of the Telefónica I+D Advisory Board and the Microsoft Research External Research Advisory Board. He worked as a researcher at AT&T Bell Laboratories, at the Universitá di Roma, and at Université Pierre et Marie Curie.

    He has authored and co-authored several scientific papers and in 2000 he was awarded the Order of Scientific Merit by the President of Brazil for his contributions to science and technology. In 2004 he also received the Conrado Wessel General Science Prize for his scientific career. He has also received the Ordre des Palmes Académiques de France, and the Order of the British Empire, Honorary (OBE) in 2015.

    Prof. Brito Cruz graduated in electronic engineering from the Aeronautics Technology Institute (ITA). He holds an MSc and DSc degree in physics from the Gleb Wataghin Physics Institute at UNICAMP.